Music City

PBR Corporate
Professional Bull Riders

Nashville Stampede Leadership Named Coach and General Manager of the Year During Inaugural PBR Team Series Season

Justin McBride and Tina Battock sweep honors following team’s historic Cinderella run through championship event to be crowned first-ever PBR Team Series Champions

PUEBLO, Colo. – Following the inaugural season for the PBR (Professional Bull Riders) Team Series, the league today announced that the Nashville Stampede’s Justin McBride and Tina Battock were voted Coach and General Manager of the Year, respectively.


The Stampede swept the year-end awards after making a Cinderella run through the championship tournament to be crowned the 2023 PBR Team Series Champions despite finishing the regular season last in the standings after going 7-20-1.


Key to their title, McBride and Battock architected one of the league’s most impactful free agent signings – grabbing undrafted three-time PBR World Champion Silvano Alves in mid-August. He became a difference maker for the team, beginning with delivering a walk-off win against the Texas Rattlers in his debut during the Stampede’s inaugural homestand.


Once inside T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas for the season-ending event, the No. 8-seeded Stampede displayed an extraordinary desire to win, stoked by the nightly speeches delivered by McBride in the venue halls, where he passionately empowered his riders to “climb the mountain” and take what was deservedly theirs. 


“While individual awards are appreciated, I think they are really a reflection of the entire program,” McBride, a two-time PBR World Champion, said after receiving the Coach of the Year award.


“The General Manager group of the PBR Teams is a mighty squad of talented, intelligent and accomplished individuals,” said Battock. “I’m beyond humbled and honored to be acknowledged by my colleagues as having contributed to the first-year success of the PBR Team Series.”

The Coach and General Manager of the Year were determined by a vote of their peers from the PBR Team Series’ eight founding teams.


Each Coach selected their Top 3 coaches from the season, excluding themselves, and each General Manager did the same amongst those holding the role. The individual selected first received three points, second two points and third one point. The Coach and General Manager of the Year were the individuals who received the most total points.


“The inaugural PBR Team Series season was one of incredible drama and parity – seven of the eight teams reached the No. 1 ranking at one point during the 11-game season, and the Nashville Stampede reached that pinnacle when it counted most.” said Sean Gleason, CEO and Commissioner, PBR. “Despite early struggles, led by Coach Justin McBride and GM Tina Battock, the Stampede stuck to their strategy, believed in themselves, and stayed hungry. They got hot at the perfect time to storm through the Championship weekend in Las Vegas. It may be the greatest story ever rode. We thank them, and all league’s great coaches and GMs for making our inaugural season one that exceeded our expectations.”


In the Coach of the Year voting, the Texas Rattlers’ Cody Lambert finished second, while the Missouri Thunder’s Ross Coleman and Arizona Ridge Riders’ Paulo Crimber tied for third.


In the General Manager of the Year voting, the Arizona Ridge Riders’ Casey Lane received the second most votes, followed by the Austin Gamblers’ JJ Gottsch in third.

The Stampede’s march through the higher-seeded competition in Las Vegas continues to be the talk of PBR Team Series during the league’s first off-season.


In Round 1, the Stampede first went toe-to-toe with the No. 3 Oklahoma Freedom who they stunned 264.75-176 to advance to Round 2.


They then faced a David vs. Goliath showdown with the No. 1 Austin Gamblers, riding three more bulls to knock off the Gamblers 265-175.25 to earn the first berth to the Semifinals.


On Championship Sunday, the Stampede squared off against the No. 2 Texas Rattlers. Compliments of an early score from Joao Henrique Lucas, and a 90-point, fifth-frame ride from Kaique Pacheco, the Stampede punched their ticket to the title game with a 178.5-90.25 win.


The Stampede’s fate then came down to the Championship Game against the No. 5 Arizona Ridge Riders.


Delivering three qualified rides from Ryan Dirteater, Alves and Pacheco, the Stampede defeated Arizona 264-182.75, completing their Cinderella run to be crowned the inaugural PBR Team Series Champions.


The PBR Team Series will resume in Summer 2023. The Nashville Stampede will begin their title defense on Monday, July 24 when the 2023 season launches in tandem with the 126th annual Cheyenne Frontier Days in Cheyenne, Wyoming.


Stay tuned to for the latest information, event schedules, personnel moves, and more.

About the PBR (Professional Bull Riders) Team Series:

The PBR Team Series is an elite new league that features the world’s top bull riders competing on teams in five-on-five bull riding games during an 11-event season beginning in July and culminating in a team championship at T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas.  During the 2022 season, each of the eight teams representing teams in Austin, TX; Fort Worth, TX; Glendale, AZ; Kansas City, MO; Nashville, TN; Oklahoma City, OK; Ridgedale, MO; and Winston-Salem, NC hosted a three-day homestand.  There were also two neutral site events in Cheyenne, WY and Anaheim, CA. To determine team rosters, the league held a rider draft on May 23 prior to start of the 2022 season among any bull riders who have declared for the draft during a league eligibility window. The PBR Team Series builds on the existing structure of professional bull riding with the same basic rules for judging and scoring qualified 8-second bull rides. Events are staged in a tournament-style format with all teams competing in head-to-head matchups against a different opponent each day. Each game features five riders per team squaring off against another team. Full team rosters are comprised of seven riders on the core roster and five practice squad members. The team with the highest aggregate score of qualified rides among its riders will be declared the winner of each game. The event winner will be the team with the most game wins across an event, with a special bonus round designed as a tiebreaker to determine final event standings. All PBR Team Series events will be carried on either the CBS Television Network, streaming live on Paramount+, CBS Sports Network, or RidePass on PlutoTV.

About the Nashville Stampede:

Nashville Stampede are based at Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tennessee, where the team held its inaugural Stampede Days homestand on August 19-21, 2022, the fourth event of the 10-event PBR Team Series regular season. The Stampede are coached by two-time PBR World Champion Justin McBride. Under the leadership of General Manager Tina Battock, the Stampede are owned by Morris Communications Company, LLC (MCC), which is part of a privately held company with diversified holdings in media, real estate, property development and agribusiness. MCC is based in Augusta, Georgia. MCC’s current media holdings include Morris Media Network (MMN) which reaches millions of consumers with diversified content brands in print, digital, products and live events including Western Horseman, Barrel Horse News, Quarter Horse News, Road to the Horse, EquiStat and the National Barrel Horse Association. A portfolio of lifestyle publications and digital assets serve outdoor/sporting/travel enthusiasts with Alaska Magazine, MilepostGray’s Sporting Journal, Charlotte Magazine, Orlando Magazine, Savannah Magazine, Where Visitor publications and more, including the Nashville Stampede, one of eight founding teams in the new PBR Team Series.