Music City

PBR Corporate
Professional Bull Riders

Mauricio Gulla Moreira Wins Round 1 of PBR U.S. Border Patrol Invitational, Presented by Cooper Tires in Glendale

Mauricio Gulla Moreira

GLENDALE, Ariz. – Mauricio Gulla Moreira (Gaviao Peixoto, Brazil) put up the only 90-point ride on Saturday night in Glendale to win Round 1 of the PBR U.S. Border Patrol Invitational, presented by Cooper Tires.


Moreira brought the heat inside Gila River Arena in a matchup with One Chance (Julio Moreno Bucking Bulls). Fans were at full volume as the 22-year-old from Brazil fired out of the chutes in complete control, besting his bovine opponent.


The determined young gun collected 29 world points for his second-round victory of 2022 Unleashes The Beast (UTB) season.


The win propelled Moreira, who had arrived in Arizona in the No. 5 spot in the world standings, to No. 4 to tie with fellow countryman and reigning world champion Jose Vitor Leme (Ribas do Rio Pardo, Brazil).


Leme’s night was less than ideal as he was unseated after 4.62 seconds in his matchup with Yadi (Denis & Jan Owens/ Joe Cefalu/ Chad Berger) then escorted off the dirt by the PBR Sports Medicine team.


Glendale’s opening night also proved disappointing for world leader Daylon Swearingen (Piffard, New York) when Off-Campus (Dakota Rodeo/ Brian & Ashley Pintar/ Clay Struve/ Chad Berger) bucked him off in 4.7 seconds. Despite the setback for the weekend, Swearingen heads into Round 2 in Arizona, maintaining his hold at the top of the world standings.


For video highlights of Round 1, including Moreira’s winning ride, courtesy PBR, click here.


Idaho’s Brady Oleson (Blackfoot, Idaho) finished in second place in Round 1.

Paired with Medicine Man (TNT Bucking Bulls/ Hart Cattle Co), the 26-year-old matched the powerful bovine jump for a jump to collect an 89.25-point score.


For his efforts, Oleson earned 18 world points to move from No. 38 to No. 32 in the world standings.


Currently No. 3 in the world standings, Kyler Oliver (Roy, Utah), paired with Budakon (Hart Cattle Co/ Hale) for a resounding 88.75-point score to finish in third place. The 22-year-old earned 17 world points to hold tight to the No. 3 spot. Oliver sits just 51.5 points behind world No. 2 Joao Ricardo Vieira (Itatinga, Brazil) and 127.16 points behind Swearingen.


Washington cowboy Derek Kolbaba (Walla Walla, Washington) secured a fourth-place finish in Round 1 after his ride aboard Vertigo Spy (Vold/ Hart Cattle Co).


Fans cheered after his 88-point score was announced, netting him 16 world points.


Beginning the night at the No. 20 spot in the world standings, Kolbaba jumped two spots to No. 18 by night’s end.


Veteran Brazilian rider Eduardo Aparecido (Gouvelandia, Brazil) rounded out the Top 5 in the round after he bested Back Jack (Dakota Rodeo/ Chad Berger) for a rewarding 87.75-point score. His Top-5 finish brought the 31-year-old rider 15 world points to hold tight to his No. 21 spot in the world standings.


The PBR U.S. Border Patrol Invitational, presented by Cooper Tires, will continue on Sunday, March 13 at 1:45 p.m. MST with Round 2 followed by the championship round.


PBR RidePass on PlutoTV will offer re-airs, and on-demand replays of every PBR Unleash The Beast event. PBR RidePass is available on desktops, laptops, and mobile devices via Tune to channel 720 for the latest programming schedule.

PBR Unleash The Beast – PBR U.S. Border Patrol Invitational, presented by Cooper Tires
Gila River Arena -Glendale, Arizona
Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Round 3-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. Mauricio Gulla Moreira, 90-0-0-90.00-29 Points.
2. Brady Oleson, 89.25-0-0-89.25-18 Points.
3. Kyler Oliver, 88.75-0-0-88.75-17 Points.
4. Derek Kolbaba, 88-0-0-88.00-16 Points.
5. Eduardo Aparecido, 87.75-0-0-87.75-15 Points.
6. Rafael Henrique dos Santos, 86.5-0-0-86.50-14 Points.
7. Luciano De Castro, 86-0-0-86.00-13 Points.
8. Brady Fielder, 83.5-0-0-83.50-12 Points.
9. Casey Coulter, 82.5-0-0-82.50-11 Points.
10. Eli Vastbinder, 82-0-0-82.00-10 Points.
11. Conner Halverson, 79.75-0-0-79.75-8 Points.


Daylon Swearingen, 0-0-0-0.00
João Ricardo Vieira, 0-0-0-0.00
Jose Vitor Leme, 0-0-0-0.00
Dener Barbosa, 0-0-0-0.00
Dalton Kasel, 0-0-0-0.00
Austin Richardson, 0-0-0-0.00
Mason Taylor, 0-0-0-0.00
Manoelito de Souza Junior, 0-0-0-0.00
Bob Mitchell, 0-0-0-0.00
Cody Teel, 0-0-0-0.00
Chase Dougherty, 0-0-0-0.00
Marco Eguchi, 0-0-0-0.00
Claudio Montanha Jr., 0-0-0-0.00
João Henrique Lucas, 0-0-0-0.00
Andrew Alvidrez, 0-0-0-0.00
Alex Cardozo, 0-0-0-0.00
Clayton Sellars, 0-0-0-0.00
Ramon de Lima, 0-0-0-0.00
Silvano Alves, 0-0-0-0.00
Lane Nobles, 0-0-0-0.00
Dakota Louis, 0-0-0-0.00
Sam Woodall, 0-0-0-0.00
Tye Chandler, 0-0-0-0.00
Dawson Branton, 0-0-0-0.00
Keyshawn Whitehorse, 0-0-0-0.00
Fernando Henrique Novais, 0-0-0-0.00
Kaique Pacheco, 0-0-0-0.00
Cody Jesus, 0-0-0-0.00